Wage and hour laws dictate how much compensation employers must pay their employees in certain circumstances. Specifically, the Fair Labor Standards Act sets the nationwide minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. Ohio has its own minimum wage, which is $8.80 an hour.
Employers must provide a minimum wage that meets the state level when the state’s minimum wage exceeds the federal hourly minimum pay rate. Employers also face restrictions in the amount of time an employee may work and will owe certain employees extra wages for working overtime. If a Chardon employer violates wage and hour laws, the employee can assert his or her legal rights and hold that company liable.
If you believe your employer is infringing on your rights as an employee, contact a wage and hour attorney, as you might be eligible to recover compensation.
Although Ohio’s minimum wage is currently $8.80 an hour, small businesses whose income level per year is less than $323,000 can offer employees a minimum of $7.25 an hour. For those small businesses, Ohio permits the use of the federal minimum wage.
Employers can pay less for individuals working for tips. For instance, servers and restaurant workers may only earn half the minimum wage, or $4.40 an hour, but the tips must bring the average hourly rate to at least Ohio’s minimum wage. A skilled Chardon attorney can help an individual determine how to pursue the compensation they deserve from an employer who violated these wage and hour laws.
If an employee works more than 40 hours in one week, his or her employer must pay overtime wages. At a minimum, overtime pay must be equal to one and a half times the pay of the employee’s regular hourly rate.
However, there are many professions in which overtime laws do not apply. For example, many professionals earn a salary regardless of whether they devote more than 40 hours a week to their job.
It is also crucial to mention that if an employee receives compensation every two weeks or once a month, employers cannot average the hours the individual worked to claim the person did not work beyond 40 hours a week. If a person worked more than 40 hours in one week but fewer hours in additional weeks, the employer will still owe overtime pay for the week when the person worked more than 40 hours. Anyone who suspects his or her employer violates wage and hour laws by failing to provide the appropriate overtime pay should contact a Chardon attorney.
State law does not dictate that employers must provide break times or lunch breaks. However, if an employee works during his or her lunch or only takes short breaks between 5 and 20 minutes as provided by the employer, the company will owe them compensation for that time.
For example, if an employee must continue to answer the phone while on his or her lunch break, that time is compensable. Additionally, employers cannot claim that they gave an employee three fifteen-minute breaks and are therefore able to reduce pay for that 45 minutes of combined break time.
Chardon workers can use wage and hour laws to hold employers responsible for their wrongful actions by retaining a skilled attorney. An attorney at Tittle & Perlmuter can discuss your situation and the possibility of filing a claim. Call to schedule a consultation today.